Outstanding Service To Veterans Hall of Fame

You know who they are, volunteers, service officers, community members or others who day in and day out go above and beyond the call of duty making sure veterans and their family members are cared for. Whether they submit claims for benefits, arrange funeral honors for grieving families, coordinate events or donate countless hours in veterans hospitals or nursing homes, here are the recipients for previous year’s Outstanding Service to Veterans Awards.

This awards program is sponsored by the Governor’s Veterans Affairs Advisory Committee (VAAC) and award winners are invited to participate in the Auburn Veteran's Day Parade each year, followed by recognition at a special luncheon.

Outstanding Service to Veterans Awards are nominated in the following categories:

• Superior Award - This award is the Committee's highest honor and is given to recognize clearly superior accomplishments, achievements, and outstanding performance.

• Distinguished Service Award - This award is used to recognize significant accomplishments and special contributions.

• Team Award - This award is designed to recognize significant accomplishments of a team or group of individuals. This may be for their contributions on a special project, special contribution and outstanding performance.

Congratulations to all of the awardees who champion what it means to "Serve Those Who Served".  Thank you for your ongoing commitment to serving the veteran community.

VAAC awards
Superior Award T.J. Morgan
  Cheri Knox
Distinguished Service Award Nino Gray
  Amy Tiemeyer
Team Award NW Veterans Resource Center
  American Lake Golf Course Volunteers
Legislator of the Year Award Senator Tim Sheldon
  Representative Ed Orcutt
PDF including nomination summary  
Superior Award Anthony Sandoval
Elizabeth Witowski
Distinguished Award Brittney Hamilton
George John Rossman
Team Award Clark County Veterans Assistance Center
American Legion Post 127
Legislator of the Year Senator Emily Randall
Representative Jacquelin Maycumber
Superior Award Tom Hove
Angel Williams
Distinguished Award Gary Walderman
Donna Buck
Team Award Lacey Veterans Services Hub
A Hero's Promise - Liberty Disaster Relief Service
Legislator of the Year Rep. Mike Chapman
Sen. Hans Zeiger
Superior Award Gary Condra
Randy Turner
Distinguished Award Allen Acosta
Christopher Carver
Team Award Tahoma National Cemetery
Spokane County Regional Vet Center
Legislator of the Year Rep. Cindy Ryu
Sen. Jim Honeyford
Superior Award Bruce McKenty
Aaron Quinonez
Distinguished Award Leslie O'Bannon
Eric Fritts
Eric Valentine
Team Award Heartbeat for Wounded Warriors
The Mission Continuous - Tacoma 1st Platoon
Legislator of the Year Rep. Kristine Reeves
Sen. Jan Angel
Superior Award Dr. Theresa Cheng
Armando Mejia
Distinguished Award Jermaine Kearse
John Moysiuk
Team Award The Butterfly Wranglers
Heroes on the Water - NW Chapter
Spokane Veterans Court
Legislator of the Year Rep. Gina McCabe
Sen. Steve O'Ban
Superior Award Monica McNeal
Francisco Ivarra
Distinguished Award Shawn Durnen
Jason Schlegel
Team Award Growing Veterans
Yes Vets Initiative - ESD & WDVA
Legislator of the Year Rep. Dick Muri
Sen. Christine Rolfes
Award Winners Donna Lowery
Sharon Kirkpatrick
Kristine Reeves
Mark Oravsky
Jason Alves
Eliseo Dumlaor
*For 2015 - we did not have  categories - i.e. - Superior, Distinguished & Team 
Superior Award Keirsten Lyons
Distinguished Award Lloyd Gabriel
Robin Baker
Keith Reyes
Robert Donaldson
Team Award WA National Guard Joint Services Support
Legislator of the Year Representative Tina Orwall
Senator Randi Becker
Superior Award Robert Valdez
Distinguished Award Sue Patterson
Earl Jones
Alex Frix
Michael Zorn
Team Award Lower Valley Honor Guard
Outstanding Patriotic Service Tami Michaels
Outstanding Veteran Service Officer Richard Caleft
Outstanding Employee Michael Flood
Outstanding Veteran Volunteer WA State Veterans Advisory Committee
Outstanding Volunteer Service Officer Lawrence Strozyk
Outstanding Male Non-Veteran Hal Bernton
Outstanding Female Non-Veteran Venay Money
Outstanding Legislators Senator Barbara Bailey
Representative Larry Seaquist
Outstanding Patriotic Service Zachary and Christopher Taylor
Outstanding Service Officer Mark Melton
Outstanding Employee Colleen Gilbert
Outstanding Veteran Volunteer Dennis Primoli
Outstanding Volunteer Service Officer Doris Kent
Outstanding Male Non-Veteran Rabbi Chaim Levine
Outstanding Female Non-Veteran Jane Jacobsen
Outstanding Legislators Senator Steve Conway
Representative Sherry Appleton
Outstanding Patriotic Service Mike Shindler
Outstanding Service Officer Ryan Nabors
Outstanding Employee Mark Fischer
Outstanding Veteran Volunteer Michael Reagan
Outstanding Volunteer Service Officer Kay Kenyon
Outstanding Female Non-Veteran Janice Nelson
Outstanding Legislators Representative Mike Armstrong